Women of Crossfit

How many times have you said to yourself… “Tomorrow is the day I start a new workout plan and I’m gonna stick with it for life and be so skinny!” Uhm, how is that going, by the way? I have never stuck with sometime so long as I have with Crossfit. When I first started my freshman year at Kent State, I’d make the effort to get to the rec a few times a week. I’d do some time on the elliptical and call it a day. I saw results (not sure how) but eventually the rec got too packed and we all know how Ohio winter tricks you into staying in bed a lot more often.

But once I started Crossfit, I couldn’t stay away. It was the first thing I thought I had potential with (athletically) and the results I was seeing became addictive. Every WOD I was amazed at what I had accomplished and I wanted to see how far I could push myself! But the biggest part of Crossfit is also the strong women at my gym and others around the world who are such great role models and have really succeeded in Crossfit.

The first and well-known Crossfit athlete is  Annie Thorisdottir. She is a beast, a woman like no other. She is the 2011 CrossFit Games champion, crowned as “The Fittest Women on Earth.”

And guess what? She’s only 21. Annie and all the women who competed in the CrossFit Games are some of the strongest women, mentally and physically. Striving to follow in these women’s footsteps is a great mental reminder when Fran is kicking your butt!

The most important woman to me in Crossfit is my trainer, Lisa. She is has the best attitude of anyone I know she is a great support system when my mental state overcomes my body in the middle of my workout. She truly amazes me and I’m proud that she’s my trainer.

Lisa (green shirt) at CrossFit Games 2011

Lisa (middle) with Annie Thorisdottir at the CrossFit Games 2011

4 responses

  1. Jessica – Jeff here…a member of SPC Crossfit, also in Kent. Love your blog. Keep it up!

    Also – yes, Lisa is a beast. I worked out with her/against her in the recent Crossfit Amazing Race. Mmmmyaaa – she smoked me. But I look at it as more inspiration. : )

    Oh – and I’m going to marry Annie Thorisdottir. Just fyi. I’ll invite you to our wedding.

    3…2…1….

    • Hi Jeff!

      Sorry it took me so long to get back to you, thanks for reading my blog! It’s a work in progress. Maybe I’ll have to come up to SPC sometime and work out with you. Careful… my rope climbs are getting nasty! Can’t wait for the wedding with Annie wooo hooo! lol

  2. Hey Jessica!

    I have never tried Crossfit before, but after reading how passionate you are, I definitely would like to give it a try! Do you follow a certain routine? Does your trainer go to the gym with you? Keep it up!

    Michelle

    • Michelle,

      You should come with me sometime. You can try it for free! Everyday is a new workout, I’ve never done the same workout…. ever. And our trainers are at the gym for every class. Each class is about ten people and its super motivating. Come with me!

Leave a comment